Cogwheel Archive

Rotary Cogwheel | 03.24.2011

March 24, 2011


Rotary Cogwheel: Thursday, March 24, 2011

Today’s Program: Therese Whitesong, Classification (Cashman)

Happy Birthday: Rich Lorang (3/21), Earl Crow (3/24) and Yogi (3/27).

Next Week: Matt Hillmann, Classification (Tollefson)

Last Meeting:

Tatiana Rodriquez comes to us from Malaga, Spain, a city of 500,000 perched on the Coast of the Sun. It is known for its tourism, its beautiful beaches and for Tatiana.

She was born in Russia. At age 8, she and her younger sister were adopted by her Spanish family. Her father is an engineer; her mother managed a cosmetics store, but is now retired. Tatiana has an older brother, Rafael. He and his wife have three boys who have stolen Tatiana’s heart.

Tatiana loves reading, dancing, music. Living in a smaller community was new to her, but she has enjoyed her time here.

Her host families have made her feel part of their families. She did not expect to be as warmly received as she has been.

Tatiana plans to study medicine one day, but she is planning a second exchange year, this time in Russia, when she finishes her year with us.


New Members: Michelle Lasswell (Frago), Ryan Blumhoefer (Whitesong) and Devon Barnes (Halverson) were formally inducted into the club. Welcome all.

Guests: Marc and Cindy Robinson, Naomi Miessler, Valerie Bollinger, Clarice Grabau, Elaine Nesbitt, Allison Oberta, Peter Davison (Tatiana) and Andre Santora (Dilley)

Scholarship Enhancement: Nikolaj


The news out of Japan is not good, but we have learned that Ryota Kimura, a former exchange student, and his family have survived. Their family home, however, was destroyed.

— The parade of flags, performed by our exchange students, introduced us to our latest club decoration, flags representing the countries with which we have had a student exchange.

Coming Up

April 7 – Elena Henrick, NGO in Nicaragua

Fast for Hope (L. Dilley)

April 9 – Fondue Fundraiser with Key, Methodist Church

April 14 – TBA (Wilmot)

April 21 – Incoming Student, Miguel Carvalho, (B. Abdella)

April 28 – Mary McNulty, President of “You are Special”  (VanBlarcom)

Welcome Our Newest Members:

Devon Barnes, Beth Bergmans, Ryan Blumhoefer, Barry Carlson, Jim Holden, Michelle Lasswell, Tim Madigan,

Don Robertson, Betsy Spethmann and Roberto Zayas