Cogwheel Archive

Northfield Rotary Cogwheel | 8.6.09

August 6, 2009

Today’s Program: Northfield Area Foundation 15th Anniversary with Karna Halverson (Ellingboe)

Happy Birthday: Michael Lane (8/5)

Next Week: Matthew Detert Classification (Reese)

Last Meeting:

Former members Chris Oatis-Skinner and Charlie Skinner returned to talk about their work for the University of Peace in San Jose, Costa Rica. Chris is in charge of Career Development and Alumni Networking; Charlie provides consulting services.

The university is the creature of the United Nations, formed 30 years ago to promote understanding, tolerance and peaceful coexistence. In its early years, it served as a think tank for Central America, but since 2000 it has adopted an international emphasis and developed a peace curriculum for a one-year masters program. The university attracts a diverse student population from across the globe. Its alumni now number 700 and represent 91 countries. The Class of 2009-10 will have 200 students.

The University of Peace is still affiliated with the U.N, but it receives no financial support from that body. Its funding comes from tuition ($22,000 a year) and foundation support.

Charlie said many of the students come from hardscrabble places with compelling stories, and he has witnessed some important transformative work towards peace.

“It is going to take generations, but cultures do change,” he said.

Tribute to Past President

President Rick Estenson paid tribute to Al Haugen, the club president when Rick joined 11 years ago, by sharing some Ole and Lena jokes. Al died six years ago. Al’s wife, Vera, and his daughter, Leigh Silkensen, were on hand to share in the moment.

New Member Induction: Ivan Imm, a new Northfield resident, once a city council member in Madison, Wis., was inducted into the club. He previously was a Rotary member in Winona and Rochester. His sponsor is Therese Whitesong.

Guests: Fay Caskey (Caskey), Breanna Tetreault (Puczko), Sharon Gates-Hull, Vera Haugen and Leigh Ann Silkensen (Williams)

Scholarship Enhancement: Ernie Mildbrandt


Hannah Puczko announced that she was resigning from the her position of Director C due to assuming the role of president-elect of the National Community Education Association.

Please update your member information by contacting Linda Willgohs at

Coming Up:

August 15 – Dedication of the Peg Prowe Pedestrian Bridge, 9 a.m.

August 20 – TBD (Halsor)

Welcome To Our New Members:

Missi Arens – Matthew Detert – John Fossum – Jodi Fritz

Ivan Imm – David Koenig – Leo Lawlor – Matthew Rich

Mary Rossing –Ingrid Sampo – Mark Thacher

Ross Thompson – Therese Whitesong – Colleen VanBlarcom