Cogwheel Archive

Rotary Cogwheel | 05.04.2017

May 3, 2017

Today’s Program | Thursday, May 4, 2017

Today: Gordon Marino, St. Olaf philosophy professor and boxing coach (Snodgrass)

Next Week: Bill Davnie, retired Foreign Service Officer, the Future of Europe (S. Flaten)

Birthdays: Eric Kwun (4/27), Geralyn Sheehan (5/2), Rick Estenson (5/4) and Charlie Cogan (5/6)

Last Week:
Wanzita’s home is Tanzania. It sits in the southeastern edge of Africa, bordered on the north by Kenya, the west by Democratic Republic of the Congo and on the east by the Indian Ocean. It is home to Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa’s highest peak. Tanzania’s main industries are agriculture, mining and tourism. Swahili is the native language.

The national coat of arms captures the country’s natural wonders and its aspirations. A man and a woman stand on top of Mount Kilimanjaro, holding elephant tusks with the flag and the flame of freedom positioned between them. The inscription on the bottom reads: Uhura na Umoja “freedom and unity.”

Coming from a consistently temperate climate, Wanzita had to adjust to our snow and cold. She has actively immersed herself in the rhythms of high school life in Northfield. She is participating in the choir and the track team, for which she runs the 800 meters and 1600 meters.

Barry Carlson’s retiring next year.

Paul Harris Presentation — Ruth Crane was honored with a Paul Harris Fellowship by her husband of long-standing, Doug.

Guests: Brent and Jenny Nystrom, Sue Beaumaster, Karen Stupic, Lori Spahn and Lukas (Wanzita), Cindy Carlson (Barry Carlson), Ruth Crane (Crane), John Fossum (Lasswell), Matt Deters (Kaczmarek), Natalie Marfleet (Taylor), Nalongue Cogan (Cogan), Haris Eminovis (Yogi) and Bill Steele (Conway).

Scholarship Enhancement: Jack “How Does He Do It” Hoschauer


— Our club will be hosting four inbound students next year. We have young men coming from Spain and Japan and two young women from Thailand and Brazil. Names and dates will follow.

— President Lasswell reminds us that May is Rotary’s Youth Service Month.

— A father of a camp RYLA participant wrote a heartfelt letter of thanks for the impact the camp had on his daughter. She went as a student last year and returned this year as a volunteer counselor. He said it was transformational for her.

— Shelly Holden invited members to attend to an event called “Honoring Choices,” Tuesday, May 9, 6:30 p.m. at St. Dominic Catholic Church. The evening is designed to help us have important conversations about our end-of-life care. MPR’s Cathy Wurzer will be the featured speaker.

— Greg Langer, husband of Vicky Langer, has been awarded the Joseph Lee Heywood Award for 2017 by Northfield’s Defeat of Jesse James Committee. Congratulations to the Langer family.

— Rotary will hold a party Thursday, June 8, at the Estenson Event Center to celebrate graduation for our exchange students. The fun will begin at 5:30 p.m. and go to 7:30 p.m. It will also be an opportunity to thank sponsors of our Turkey Trot and Bike Tour.

Inbound students are:
Daniel Chien from Taiwan

Nico Suarez Toloza from Colombia

Eric Kwun from South Korea
Wanzita Ally from Tanzania
Matteo Lombardo, Italy

Our 2017-18 outbound students are:
Madison Asp — Finland

Joan Erickson — Argentina

Annika Fisher— South Africa

Bergen Hoff — Czech Republic/Slovakia

Emma Iverson — Spain

Alex Kovach — Japan

Joseph Kreis — Italy

Benjamin (Ben) Mohlke — Brazil

Piper Nelson — Germany

Jenna Olien — South Korea

Jack Overstreet — Brazil

Gregory Pelletier — Argentina

Espen Richardson — Norway

Elizabeth (Betsy) Schuerman — Denmark

Allison (Al) Weise — Thailand

2016-17 Outbound Students

Sage Brinton, Argentina

Caroline Hummel, Norway

Noah Klein, South Korea

Jane Ludwig, Colombia

Yizel Marcial, Germany

Daiki Nishioka, Taiwan

Liliana (Lily) Noble, Italy

Emma Prichard, Taiwan

Nathaniel Urke, Brazil.

Coming Up

May 18 — Club Assembly, Five-Year Plan (President Lasswell and President-Elect Wakely)

May 25 — Pete Sandberg, St. Olaf Assistant Vice President for Facilities, Solar Panels (Covey)

June 1 — Kari Albers, Dundas Bike Kiosk (Prowe)

June 8 — KYMN Radio Business of the Year, Jeff Johnson and Teri Knight (Morlan)